My Guilty Pleasure (one of many)

As most of you know (or maybe didn’t know) I am a huge pop culture fanatic. It’s because thats what I grew up around. Probably one of the first magazines I remember flipping through was Us Weekly. Anytime we had a family get together that was usually the topic of conversation. What celebrity is dating who, what they are are wearing and who recently got in trouble. So by now you can conclude that I live and breathe it. I have E! Online bookmarked and it’s honestly the only form of “news” I get a chance to watch. A lot of people within my chosen field would look down on the fact that i am not ‘up-to-date’ on all the breaking news, the stuff that matters but you know what? I don’t care! You should have seen the disgusted looks I got in my Journalism class when we were told to pick a news source to discuss daily news and yes you guessed it, I picked People.com. It’s what entertains me and there is nothing I see wrong with that.

Now do I necessarily believe everything I read and hear? No. But that doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy it. Yes some stories are a little stupid and you really want to say “why the hell was that story even necessary?” See here for a perfect example. Personally, I don’t really care that an American Idol alum for how many ever years ago had a child.

Something I DO care about, and I would hope most of you know- The Academy Awards are airing this Sunday and is one of the biggest awards show of the years. check out that link to see all the wonderful (and not so wonderful) noms. What are your predications? I am  all for Octavia Spencer winning Best Supporting Actress, she’s the only one who actually deserves to win in my opinion.
Another favorite: Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close. You can’t go wrong with Tom Hanks and Sandra Bullock and what the movie stands for makes the movie phenomenal.
When it comes to Best Picture I am personally disappointed in the selection this year, and it could be my taste in movies, but nothing really stood out to me.

One of the biggest snubs of The Oscars for me was The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo not getting as much recognition as I thought it deserved. This was one of the best films I saw all year, and although Rooney Mara is up for Best Actress in a Lead Role, I highly doubt she will get it.

And of course one the best parts of any awards show is the fashion. All the glitz and glam we’ll see on the Red Carpet will be just overwhelming to me! I hope The Oscars have some better fashion because frankly the women at The Golden Globes must have gotten dressed with their eyes closed. I’m also so glad that George Clooney and Brad Pitt got noms this year because the spotlight will be on them during the pre-show.. 🙂

What are your 2012 Oscar predictions?

2 thoughts on “My Guilty Pleasure (one of many)

Leave a Reply

