Finding your dream job is just as terrifying as it is exciting

Okay, I’m getting ahead of myself. I found my dream job, but I still have a lot of college left.

The feeling, however, I can’t seem to shake.

At a professional networking day with my student organization PRSSA, I was able to chat with this charismatic, friendly woman who works for the Mall of America. There were three representatives that came from their PR department and a spot opened up to have a quick chat with one of them. I knew I only had a few minutes, to respect the time of the other students who attended, so I think I just started rambling. Apparently, I had some sort of affect.

Without really even knowing exactly what they did in the PR department at Mall of America, I knew I wanted to learn more. I told them I had an extreme passion for event planning and working with face-paced, driven, hardworking people.

I was fortunate enough to plan a follow-up meeting with Tara, the Digital Public Relations Coordinator, for a few weeks later.

I have never been more excited for this meeting. Although I had been up since 5 a.m., it was totally worth it. I learned about virtually every aspect of what the interns do, and what they all do in their jobs. Within the first five minutes I was sold: this is my dream job.

Everything from event planning, to social media, to store openings…I was in love with everything about their culture, atmosphere, and staff. This is where I want to work and have never been so excited about something in my life.

I would also love to write for their blog. Check it out here— it’s awesome!

On the other hand, I am in no rush to graduate. I am going to soak up my last nine months of freedom where it’s acceptable to stay up late, sleep in, and participate in Sunday Funday.

Knowing what (may) lie ahead in my future is a beautiful thing!

#Happy

Leave a Reply

