Beer Exploration of the Week

This week, I am ashamed to say I tried one of the most popular craft beers for the very first time. Based out of St. Paul, Summit EPA is on tap almost everywhere, and I tasted it for the first time Easter Sunday.

Why did it take me so long? I think I was apprehensive due to the fact it was a slightly hoppier beer, and I still haven’t trained my taste buds to appreciate those yet.

So, what was my reaction? I thought it was delicious. It’s a great start to hoppier, slightly bitter beer. Although I could probably only have one or two; I still thought it was incredibly refreshing.

url-1I have tried other Summit brand beers in the past; Summit Oktoberfest (which I loved), and Summit Winter Alie (which was alright). It isn’t my favorite beer that I seek out at every liquor store or restaurant, but I now know I can enjoy one while I’m out.

I am working on my own vocabulary for when I try beers… but for now, I have to take the words from the professionals. “Bronze color. Gold medal-winning flavor. With caramel, biscuity malts superbly balanced with an earthy hop bite and juicy citrus.” I tookthat directly from the Summit website; they have a ton of great information on their beers!

All around, I enjoyed it, but I didn’t fall head over heels for it. I am still on the search for that beer I can’t get enough of. (Spotted Cow is definitely in the top three right now).

Still an amateur, but with time I may actually know what I’m talking about.

I am headed to Milwaukee on Thursday, and I absolutely love Wisconsin beer; so I may have a few posts about my beer explorations next week 🙂

#Cheers

 

One thought on “Beer Exploration of the Week

  1. I agree with you on the not-quite-into-hops thing. Pretty sure I have tried and appreciated Summit’s EPA but it won’t be much of a repeat purchase.

    I am pretty thrilled to find a fellow beer-fan on the trip to Alnwick.

Leave a Reply

