Beer Exploration of the Week: Fall Favorites

The best time of year for beer is here! (I didn’t plan for that to rhyme)

Oktoberfest, Pumpkin Ales, Caramel Apple Spiced Ales – they are all back!

I tried two Oktoberfest beers this week and I was highly impressed with both of them. As always, if you have any suggestions on beer I should try – send them my way!

See my Sip Score breakdown here if you haven’t yet.

Line

Schells Oktoberfest

Schells Oktoberfest A great Minnesota beer with a long history. Schells dates back to 1860 when founder August Schell “laid his first brick”.

If Schells can make it through prohibition and still brew beer in 2014 – it’s a beer worth drinking.

So, they have this Oktoberfest beer they have been brewing every year – and it’s pretty amazing. Just saying.

 Here’s my review:

A slight sweetness but with full flavor. It’s crisp, malty and perfect for cool autumn days. It’s incredibly smooth with an earthy finish (stole the word “earthy” from another review – but I totally agree with it)

Here is how Schell describes it:

“The use of Munich and Vienna malts give the beer its toasty malt backbone, and melanoidin-rich flavor and aroma.  It has a soft malt sweetness, pleasant mouthfeel and a slight spiciness.  Hop character is subdued, as the malt takes center stage with this beer.”

I, of course, had to set the mood and light a pumpkin spice candle as I enjoyed this tasty beer! 🙂

Beer Exploration Schells Oktoberfest

Sip Score: 4 sips out of 5

Summit Oktoberfest

Two Minnesota beers? I definitely didn’t plan for that. Who would have thought my two Summit Oktoberfestfavorite Oktoberfest beers are both brewed in Minnesota?

Another validation of why Minnesota is great to live in 🙂

I got this beer on tap about a week ago, but never had the chance to take a photo, so I got a sampler pack and made sure to get this one again.

Here’s my review:

This beer is outstanding. My favorite thus far in my fall beer explorations. Spicy, medium-bodied, very flavorful. Notes of pumpkin and nut towards the end.

Here’s how Summit describes it: 

“Brewed in the classic Märzen style with Northern Brewer hops from Germany. Rich, toffee malt flavors up front with a clean hop finish as crisp as the autumn air.”

Sip Score: 5 sips out of 5

What’s Next?

Fall comes and goes so quickly. I need to get in all of the seasonal beer sampling why I can. Here’s a sneak peak of what’s to come next:

Fall Beers

5 thoughts on “Beer Exploration of the Week: Fall Favorites

      1. Hi Erin, I did try a few Oktoberfest beers: Hofbräu, Samuel Adams, and Shiner. I liked them all, and it depends what you’re into — a lighter beer (Hofbräu) or one with richer flavor (the Sammy Adams). I’m going to publish a post about them this morning, and I’m linking to your blog because you inspired me to do this beer sampling. I hope you don’t mind the links! But if you do, just let me know and I’ll take them off. Thanks for the beer inspiration, and I hope you’re enjoying autumn and some great craft brews!

Leave a Reply

