Beer Exploration of the Week: 2 New Pumpkin Brews

I have indulged in yet another two autumn craft beers, these two happened to be pumpkin ales.

I will tell you right away – one of the following two beers I tried was absolutely outstanding in flavor, color and presentation. The other one was a beer I will soon forget about.

As always, you can refer to my Sip Score to see how I lay things out.

HornyCopia  Pumpkin Ale

First, I have to give this brewery credit for their clever names. Check out their website for HornyCopia_Beerthe full list of beers, but Horny Blonde, Baby Got Bock, Hopped Up N’ Horny IPA… you get the picture!

This beer is very carbonated at first sip – not a very powerful pumpkin flavor, but you can definitely taste some spices. This is perfect for the beginner craft beer drinker.

Here’s how Horny Goat Brewing coins the beer:

“We mash in pumpkins with 2 row, Vienna and Caramel malts for a hearty ale with just the right amount of body. Spices added to the boil create a complex yet deliciously harmonious flavor. We used pumpkin and spice to yield a brew we proudly describe as “Pumpkin Pie in a Bottle””

This was not my favorite beer, I probably won’t ever drink it again – but that’s just my opinion.

Sip Score: 1.5 sips out of 5 

Line

Whole Hog Pumpkin Ale

WholeHogPumpkinAle

By now you can guess which beer I liked better. This beer was amazing. I had just got done playing two grueling hours of Dodgeball (I know, right? Sounds awful. It kinda is, but it’s also a lot of fun) and I was very, very thirty. I was pleasantly surprised and my thirst was deliciously quenched with this pumpkin ale.

Whole Hog Pumpkin Ale is brewed out of Stevens Point Brewery in Wisconsin. (They are over 150 years old – I definitely recommend checking them out)

Here’s my review:

Very distinct smell – a mix of cinnamon, pumpkin and other spices are present at first sip. It actually smelled just like pumpkin pie – it was rich, flavorful and so delicious.

Here’s what the experts say:

Handcrafted using real pumpkin and savory pumpkin pie spices with hints of all natural cinnamon and nutmeg.  Perle hops balance with rich Munich, Roasted, and Caramel malts for the full-bodied taste and exceptional flavor.

Sip Score: 4 sips out of 5

 WholeHogPumpkinAle

Leave a Reply

