Appreciation: The Feel-Good Fuel For Success

This post was originally written by me on my company’s blog, and it was posted almost six months ago. I wanted re-purpose this on my personal blog as I am starting a new chapter in my life, but I will never forget the amazing experience I had working at Leighton Interactive. The people alone are so kick-ass, I am going to miss them all terribly, but the best part was the job was extremely challenging and always exciting.

Enjoy!

Line

No matter what career path you may choose, or what industry it leads you to, we have one thing in common: we are all human.

As human beings, we all need physical, emotional, and mental support at one point or another throughout our lives. If we didn’t have support and appreciation from those around us, we would feel useless. Everyone strives for fulfillment in their lives, so why wouldn’t we strive for that in the workplace as well?

I’m Appreciated Already!

It’s a scary thing going into a new job where you don’t know anyone, or what role you’ll play in the success of the company. That initial fear I had prior to joining the Leighton Interactive team was gone within the first few days. The team was far from shy in getting to know me right away, and gave me a lot of positive encouragement. It was a breath of fresh air.

This quote is all too true: “A person who feels appreciated will always do more than what is expected.” That can transfer across many platforms – work, home, family, or friends. When someone takes the time to notice your work and determination, it makes you want to push even harder to succeed.

Appreciation Can Go a Long Way

Feeling AppreciatedWhen I was in high school and college, I worked part-time in the hospitality industry. I worked at a variety of restaurants and bars since I was 16. I have fond memories of each place I worked at, establishing relationships I will have for life. It’s a great industry to work in, but it can also be very heartbreaking.

Working in that industry helped me to understand early on that appreciation can go a long way. I remember some of my worst nights on the job, when I would receive disapproving comments about the food or service, even though I was doing everything I could to make that table’s experience spectacular. That one negative comment always outweighs the positive ones. But on the other hand, it’s a night and day difference when you feel appreciated by your customers, co-workers, and management. We’ve all experienced this, no matter what industry you’ve worked in.

First Impressions of LI

Since I started at Leighton Interactive, I have observed – on many occasions – the outpour of appreciation and comments like “great work” and “thank you for all that you’re doing” across all of the LI team members. It shows that everything, big and small, is being noticed. Words of encouragement are consistently flowing. I believe that is what keeps a team cohesive and hard-working. Every single “thank you” or “nice job” contributes immensely to the success of the project, company, and most importantly, you as a professional.

Practice the Golden Rule

Everyone knows the Golden Rule (treat others the way you want to be treated). We were all taught it at a young age, and we need to keep living by that rule throughout our lives.

Those who feel appreciated will work harder, and appreciation should be utilized across all platforms. You will see increases in productivity, and a general positive ‘buzz’ around the office. Appreciation can drive anyone to success!

Remember the most important thing: We Are All Human!

Leave a Reply

