Happy Hour Picks – Burgers & Brews

This post wasn’t originally intended to be all about burgers and beer – but as I started writing this I realized they all had a common theme. The following three places I visited are all at the top of my list for favorite spots in Minneapolis. I highly recommend each place.

The Freehouse

This place is seriously one of my new favorite places (I know, I have said this more than once). There is something about the vibe I really like – the well-dressed crowd (staff and Freehouse-menucustomers alike) and the fun, busy atmosphere keeps me coming back again and again.

Two great things you need to know:Β they brew their own beer and they have amazing customer service. As a service industry veteran, I am always pleased when I have exceptional customer service each time I visit.

Another fun thing, I don’t know if they do this every night, but one busy Friday night as we were waiting for our table we were offered *free* snacks and a server came by frequently to take any drink orders while we waited.

Here’s the breakdown of happy hour:
Monday-Friday 4-6
$4 Freehouse taps
$5 select wines
$4 rail cocktails
$6 Freehouse featured cocktail
$5 select beer bites

I highly recommend this place – especially once summer hits. The patio is lively and fun.

PS. As a marketing/advertising junkie – the branding is amazing. It’s clean and very eye-catching.

Freehouse-happy-hour

JL Beers

A newbie to Northeast, they originated in North Dakota. Word on the street is this Northeast establishment is expanding and you’ll see more popping up around the JL-Beers-beermetro within the next year.

Because they are a newer place – they don’t have the proper licenses yet to hold “happy hour”, but this place is worth a visit.

Two great things you need to know: If you are craving a good burger and beer, this place serves just that. Literally. They also serve a huge variety of craft beer that’s always changing – you can try something new each time you visit.

Something fun to try: a beer flight – they range from $8-$9 and you get five to sample, it’s always fun if you aren’t sure what types of beer you like.

This place is on the smaller side, so I suggest going during the slow hours. It will give you a great opportunity to get to know the friendly staff and have attentive service.

JL-Beers-flights


Surly Beer Hall

I thought I loved Surly before I went to their new destination brewery. Wow was I impressed. The food was beautiful (it was like eating art), delicious and reasonably priced.

I had the Surly Burger – it was so good I forgot to take a photo! I am pretty sure the sauce they use is what makes the burger.

Two (sort of) great things you need to know:Β Plan to spend some time there. It’s still such a new place, so there is usually a wait. It’s great though, they have a station where you can order beer while you wait. Second, the seating is community-style, so you can meet fellow beer lovers. It’s a great time because you’re surrounded by great food, great beer and great conversation.

If you are looking for a quiet, more intimate setting – I don’t think this is the place to go, unless you are there during off hours. (late at night or midday).Β 

Surly Beer

Leave a Reply

